Eight districts declared sensitive in KP during Muharram

PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has declared eight districts of the province as sensitive during the Muharram processions.

The districts include Peshawar, Kohat, Hangu, Dera Ismail Khan, Kurram, Orakzai, and Tank.

Moreover, 4,500 places of worship were declared as the most sensitive during Muharram in these eleven districts of the province.

Based on the information provided by the police and security forces, the Home Department has decided to deploy the police, Frontier Constabulary, and Frontier Corps to ensure security at these sensitive places of worship throughout Muharram.

To prevent any untoward incidents, the police have been instructed to seal the routes of mourning processions in all these districts.

The Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee on Tuesday announced that the Muharram moon has not been sighted in Pakistan and Youm-e-Ashur — Muharram 10 — will be observed on July 29 (Saturday).


You May Also Like