Virat Kohli named cricketer of the year in ODI

Kohli declared ICC's Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced Indian batsman Virat Kohli as cricketer of the year 2023 in the one-day international (ODI) format.

In an announcement, the ICC said that Kohli “had a superb year with the bat, culminating in a record tally of runs at the home World Cup, where his contributions played a major part in India’s run to the final.”

The Indian batsman has scored an impressive 1377 runs in the 50-over format in 2023, scoring six centuries and eight 50-runs in over 24 innings. He topped the year off as Player of the Tournament at the 2023 world cup.

Read more: Shah Khawar appointed acting PCB chief

Kohli scored the highest score by a player at any world cup with a remarkable 765 runs during the 2023 world cup. In the semi-finals, he accomplished 50 ODI centuries making him the number one player to score highest number of centuries in the ODI form.

Similarly, Australian player Usman Khawaja beat several competitors including Indian Ravinchandra Ashwin to be declared ICC’s Men’s Test Cricketer.

He scored an extraordinary 496 runs against England and 333 runs in four matches against India. Khawaja almost pierced the two-centuries mark but fell short on two occasions: 195 against South Africa and 180 against India.

Read more: Visa hurdles finally over for rookie spinner Shoaib Bashir

The Pakistani-origin player topped off the year with 1210 runs in over thirteen test matches.

Winners of ICC Awards 2023

In related news, Australian Pat Cummins was pronounced as winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023.

Second Indian to score a ranking was Suryakumar Yadav, who was awarded cricketer of the year in T20 format.

Dutch player Bas de Leede was hailed as ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the year for his impressive performance in the 2023 world cup and series against India.

Among other categories, New Zealand player Rachin Ravindra was awarded ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year for 2023, while ICC Umpire of the year went to English Richard Illingworth.

In women’s categories, English Nat Sciver-Brunt won ICC’s Women Cricketer of the Year for second time in a row. Sri Lankan Chamari Athapaththu was crowned women’s cricketer of the year in the ODI format.

West Indies captain Hayley Matthews was awarded women’s cricketer of year in T20 format. Meanwhile, Kenyan Queentor Abel was declared women’s associate cricketer of the year for scoring a notable 476 runs in T20 format.

You May Also Like